The NSW Local Government Excellence Awards celebrate outstanding achievements and promote innovation and continuous improvement within NSW local government. Through the Awards, we demonstrate the excellent work being undertaken by our members and NSW councils, showcasing it throughout the state as well as nationally.

This years Awards recognise initiatives, projects or programs that have been completed between January to December 2019. 


Nominations Close  
5.00PM, 20 March 2020

Notification of Finalists
3 April 2020

Announcement of Winners 
LG Awards Dinner 4 June 2020

Publication of Winners
5 June 2020

The awards will be presented at
LG Awards 
4 June 2020 
The Fullerton Hotel in Sydney
formerly The Westin Hotel

Please click here to view the 2019 awards programme which includes all finalist submissions

Please click here to view full list of awards winners from previous years


All award nominations are to be submitted via the online nomination system accessible via the category links above.

To assist in making this process cleaner, we recommend you download the Award Nomination Requirements and prepare your answers before you access the portal, allowing you to simply copy and paste your prepared responses into your submission. Please proof read your submission carefully before finalising. Submissions will be published in the awards booklet as supplied (including typing errors and spelling mistakes).

LG Professionals, NSW reserves the right to cancel or amend an award category at any time. Any councils impacted by this change will be notified accordingly.


For sponsorship opportunities please contact
Hannah Gontard
Events Manager
02 8297 1202


For additional information on the NSW Local Government Excellence Awards please contact:
Mia Wall
A/ Operations & Council Services Manager
02 8297 1201