Dick Cahill Memorial Scholarship

Dick Cahill was a well known local government finance professional who contributed so much to his profession, spanning over 35 years. Dick was still working for Camden Council and had only just announced that he was retiring from local government before his sudden death in October 2001, and his loss was felt by many. His name will be treasured for a long time to come. 

The Dick Cahill Memorial Scholarship encourages the ongoing development and training of up and coming finance professional staff within NSW local government, and the opportunity to participate in the local government sector as a member of Next Gen Member Network. 

Scholarship Inclusions

Up to six successful scholarship recipients receive:

• Full conference registration to attend LG Finance 
• Two night’s accommodation at the conference venue
• Registration for any ancillary events associated with the conference

Dick Cahill Memorial Award

All scholarship recipients are nominated for the Dick Cahill Memorial Award which is announced at the LG Finance conference dinner. 

The best application as judged by the Executive Committee, will be awarded the Dick Cahill Memorial Award and presented with a trophy on the night.


Applicants must have been an LG Professionals, NSW member for the past twelve months and their membership fees up to date at time of application.

This scholarship is open to members who are under 35 years of age. A maximum of two entries will be considered per council.

Applications are now open

Applications will be accepted up until 4 October 2019.
The scholarship recipients will be advised by 18 October 2019 and the award winner will be announced at the LG Finance Conference Dinner.

Past Dick Cahill Memorial Scholarship Recipients



   James Ovenstone,Blayney Shire Council 
  Leonie Johnson, Mid-Western Regional Council
     Miukaela Jaffrey, Shoalhaven City Council
   Anna Bashkirova, Randwick City Council
     Rachel Johnson, Wagga Wagga Council
   Ben Collins, Penrith City Council
     Letetia Dennis, Wagga Wagga Council    Marlene Cauchi, Penrith City Council
     David Hassett, Clarence Valley Council
   Arman Perez, Penrith City Council
2010    Amber Pollard, Eurobodalla Shire Council    Zachary Wilson, Wagga Wagga City Council
     Christiana Christofi, Willoughby City Council 
   Daniel Moore, Campbelltown City Council
     Tiffany Martinez, Penrith City Council
   Amy Lake, Coffs Harbour City Council
     Christine Herbert, Penrith City Council
   Matt Press, Blayney Shire Council 
     Phil Swaffield, Wagga Wagga City Council
 2011    Kirsty Gooley, Clarence Valley Council
   Emily Lonsdale, Wollongong City Council
     Chris Weir, Penrith City Council
   Mia Pedersen, Port Stephens Council
     Arman Perez, Penrith City Council
   Nicola Hummerston, Wollongong City Council
     Shay Lucas, City of Wagga Wagga
   Rebecca Clapham, Campbelltown City Council
     Ross Gurney, Blue Mountains City Council
   Sophie Thompson, Port Stephens Council
 2012    Andrew Ogg, Wollongong City Council
   Nicola Hummerston, Wollongong City Council
     Luke Dorahy, Wollongong City Council
   Rebecca Clapham, Campbelltown City Council
     Maria Khalil, Holroyd City Council
   Stephanie Hummerston, Wollongong City Council
     Mitchell Brown, Campbelltown City Council
   Trinity Malinski, Eurobodalla Shire Council
 2013    Cooper Dunn, Wollongong City Council
   Stephanie Hummerston, Wollongong City Council
     Mitchell Brown, Campbelltown City Council
   Daniel Lerve, Kogarah City Council
     Lauren McPherson, Tamworth Regional Council
   Trish Wilson, Mid-Western Regional Council
     Arman Perez, Penrith City Council
   Lee Jenkins, Penrith City Council
 2014    Ben Collins, Penrith City Council   Maryanne Mikhail, Blacktown City Council
     Samantha Ratley, Narrabri Shire Council   Timothy Booth, Oberon Council
     Jacqueline Chadwick, Bombala Council   Monika Truszkowska, Snowy River Shire Council
 2015    Anneeta Blanch, Gloucester Shire Council   Amanda Williams, City of Newcastle
     Stephen Watson, Shoalhaven City Council   Amanda Zhu, North Sydney Council
     Ammon Arvidson, Port Stephens Council   Brock Gannon, Orange City Council
 2016   Bataa Tsamba, Mid-Western Regional Council   Emily Raymond, City of Newcastle Council
    Kaniz Morshedi, Georges River Council    Kelly McGowan, Cessnock City Council
    Matthew Crowe, Shoalhaven City Council   Peter Pazin, Georges River Council
 2017    Anwarul Abedin, Murray River Council    Matthew Chappell, City Of Newcastle
     Daniel Fulton, Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council    Daniel Lerve, Georges River Council
     Brendan Lloyd, City of Newcastle    Peter Pazin, Georges River Council
 2018    Trish Elsegood, Midwestern Regional Council    Samantha Fletcher, Campbelltown City Council
     Alana Villata, Griffith City Council    Emily Wilson, Gunnedah Shire Council

Previous Recipients - Dick Cahill Memorial Award