Col Mills Memorial Scholarship

This memorial scholarship is made available specifically to younger LG Professionals, NSW members in an effort to support them as they develop and grow in their career in local government. The Col Mills scholarship was formed in 1999, in memory of active member Col Mills, who was a strong advocate of creating opportunities for members to advance their professional careers.

Scholarship Inclusions

Successful scholarship recipients will receive:
  • Registration to attend the LG Professionals, NSW Local Government Conference
  • Two nights accommodation at the conference hotel
  • Registration to attend the LG Awards dinner

Col Mills Memorial Award

All scholarship recipients will be nominated for the Col Mills Memorial Award and will receive a complimentary ticket to the LG Awards dinner held in June.

The two best applications (one male and one female) as judged by the LG Awards Judging Committee, will be awarded the Col Mills Memorial Award and receive:
 The Col Mills Memorial Award presented at LG Awards
 Registration to attend LG Professionals, NSW Local Government Conference the following year and the LG Awards dinner
 Registration to attend the LG Professionals National Congress and Business Expo

Both award winners will be entered into the national award for The Emerging Leader of The Year Award which is judged as part of the National Awards announced at the LG Professionals, Australia National Congress and Business Expo.

2019 Recipients


Charlotte Cottam
Acting Manager, Operational Facilities, Liverpool City Council

Emily Wilson
Economic Development Officer, Gunnedah Shire Council

Samantha Ratley
Senior Finance Officer, Narrabri Shire Council

Zac Mahon
Accountant, Goldenfields Water County Council

Memorial Award

Samantha Ratley
Senior Finance Officer
Narrabri Shire Council

Zac Mahon
Goldenfields Water County Council