Col Mills Memorial Scholarship

This memorial scholarship is made available specifically to younger LG Professionals, NSW members in an effort to support them as they develop and grow in their career in local government.

The Col Mills scholarship was formed in 1999, in memory of active member Col Mills, who was a strong advocate of creating opportunities for members to advance their professional careers.

Scholarship Inclusions

Successful scholarship recipients will receive:
  • Registration to attend LGC19
  • Two nights accommodation at the conference hotel
  • Registration to attend the LG Awards dinner

Col Mills Memorial Award

All scholarship recipients will be nominated for the Col Mills Memorial Award and will receive a complimentary ticket to the LG Awards dinner held in June.

The two best applications (one male and one female) as judged by the LG Awards Judging Committee, will be awarded the Col Mills Memorial Award and receive:
The Col Mills Memorial Award presented at LG Awards
Registration to attend LGC20 and the LG Awards dinner
Registration to attend the LG Professionals National Congress and Business Expo

Both award winners will be entered into the national award for The Emerging Leader of The Year Award which is judged as part of the National Awards announced at the LG Professionals, Australia National Congress and Business Expo.


Applicants must be an LG Professionals, NSW member and their membership fees up to date at time of application. Previous recipients of the Col Mills Memorial Scholarship Award are not eligible to apply. This scholarship is open to members who are under 35 years of age.

Registrations for the 2019 Col Mills Memorial Scholarship are closed

Previous Recipients - Col Mills Memorial Scholarship

 2008 Keith Whelan, Cessnock City Council
 2009 Melissa Forland, Shellharbour City Council
 2011 Claire Digger, Wingecarribee Shire Council
 2013 Nicole Collins, Shellharbour City Council            
 2013 Scott McNamara, Musswellbrook Shire Council
 2014 Riarna Hamilton, Lake Macquarie City Council
Daniel Fulton, Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council  
Robert Morris, Lake Macquarie City Council
Danielle Parker, Georges River Council
Emily Raymond, Newcastle City Council
 2018 Alana Villata, Griffith City Council 
Emily Tonacia, Goldenfields Water County Council
Luke Fitzgerald, Randwick City Council 
Russell Peake, Northern Beaches Council 
 2019 Charlotte Cottam, Liverpool City Council
Emily Wilson, Gunnedah Shire Council
Samantha Ratley, Narrabri Shire Council
Zac Mahon, Goldenfields Water County Council

Previous Recipients - Col Mills Memorial Award



Emily Raymond

Management Accountant
Newcastle City Council

Daniel Fulton

Service Manager Recreation & Culture
Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council





Alana Villata

Accountant/ Grants Coordinator
Griffith City Council

Russell Peake

Project Manager - Business Performance Executive
Northern Beaches Council 

Samantha Ratley

Senior Finance Officer
Narrabri Shire Council

Zac Mahon

Goldenfields Water County Council