NSW Local Government Celebrates Excellence

On Thursday 6 April, over 300 local government professionals gathered in the Ivy Ballroom, Sydney to celebrate the outstanding achievements of the sector at Local Government Professionals Australia, NSW’s flagship event The LG Awards Dinner.

These awards recognise and showcase the pinnacle of excellence in the local government sector in NSW and significant achievements by NSW councils over the past year as well as the outstanding professional development achievements of our members.

This year, both Deputy Premier John Barilaro MP and Minister for Local Government Gabrielle Upton MP presented awards to nominees from the sector.

The Local Government Minister Gabrielle Upton presented the Member Milestone Awards recognising Mr Bob Love OAM for 65 years of continuous membership and Mr Gary Faulks for 50 years of continuous membership of our association.

The Minister also presented the Col Mills Memorial Award, in memory of late active member Col Mills, a strong advocate of creating opportunities for young members to advance their professional careers. The two winners of the Col Mills Memorial Award were Emily Raymond, Management Accountant at Newcastle City Council and Daniel Fulton, Manager Community Business at Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council.

The Deputy Premier presented the awards for the winning team of the Rural Management Challenge which saw 30 teams from across rural and regional New South Wales challenged with tasks designed to stretch their knowledge of local government and their council’s policies and procedures. All tasks were tailored specifically for rural and regional councils, addressing realistic scenarios faced in the day-to-day management of council operations. The winning team of the Rural Management Challenge for 2015 was Goulburn Mulwaree Council.

The Deputy Premier also announced the winners of the Australasian Management Challenge for NSW, which provides real life problem solving experiences and challenges to produce enduring benefits for participating teams. Mid-Western Regional Council were the winners of the Challenge with Camden Council achieving second place followed by Fairfield City Council.

 “Local government works hard for the communities in New South Wales, and we were thrilled that the Deputy Premier and Local Government Minister joined us in acknowledging the sector’s professionalism and dedication” said Barry Smith, President LG Professionals, NSW.


Local Government Excellence Awards:

Excellence in Innovative Leadership and Management

Recognising the use of superior management and leadership skills to achieve outstanding benefits for the organisation and/or for the community.


Winner: Tweed Shire Council

Highly Commended: Lachlan Shire Council, City of Ryde Council

Community Partnerships and Collaboration

Recognising genuine and effective partnerships and collaborations that have resulted in better outcomes for council, as well as initiatives that demonstrate a commitment to working with and/or in the community to achieve positive outcomes.


Population over 15,000

Winner: Port Stephens Council

Highly Commended: Blacktown City Council, Lake Macquarie City Council


Population under 15,000

Winner: Warrumbungle Shire Council

Excellence in Local Economic Contribution

Recognising innovation in leadership and management for a project/initiative that has enhanced the economic wellbeing of their local government area and increased the value proposition to ratepayers and residents, in parts or all, of their city, town, district or region.


Winner: Liverpool City Council

Highly Commended: Lake Macquarie City Council

Excellence in Environmental Leadership and Sustainability

Recognising dedication to sustainability as evidenced by the implementation of corporate process improvements, projects or initiatives that demonstrate significant real or potential benefit to the environment.


Population over 100,000

Winner: Campbelltown City Council

Highly Commended: Canterbury-Bankstown Council, Central Coast Council


Population under 100,000

Winner: City of Canada Bay Council

Highly Commended: Byron Shire Council


Special Project Initiative

Recognising leadership where an individual, team or council has developed a concept or practice that significantly improves the business in which they work, development of processes or practices that has had a major impact on the organisation or its customers.


Population over 15,000

Winner: Lake Macquarie City Council

Highly Commended: Central Coast Council, North Sydney Council


Population under 15,000

Winner: Hunter’s Hill Council

Excellence in Community Development and Services

Recognising leadership in community services as evidenced by way of corporate process improvements, a particular project initiative, innovation in management and leadership practices or demonstrated practicality and resourcefulness.


Winner: Canterbury-Bankstown Council

Highly Commended: Cumberland Council

Excellence in Asset Management and Infrastructure Initiatives

Recognising excellence in Asset Management as evidenced by the implementation of corporate process improvements, projects or initiatives that demonstrate significant real or potential benefit in asset management.


Winner: Campbelltown City Council

Highly Commended: Port Macquarie-Hastings Council, Wentworth Shire council

Excellence in Risk Management

Recognising the community and/or Council benefits (strategic, operational or financial) delivered through the identification, control and mitigation of risks within a council’s unique risk profile.


Winner: Wollongong City Council

Highly Commended: City of Canada Bay Council

Excellence in Creative Communities

Recognising excellence in bring together communities through art and cultural creative projects.


Population over 15,000

Winner: Campbelltown City Council

Highly Commended: Bega Valley Shire Council, Port Macquarie-Hastings Council


Population under 15,000

Winner: Narrabri Shire Council


Excellence in Operational and Management Effectiveness

The Excellence in Operational and Management Effectiveness Award is open to all NSW councils who have participated in the Australasian LG Performance Excellence Program.


Winner: Willoughby City Council

Dux of the Governance Intensive Course

The Governance in Local Government Intensive Course has been developed to enhance the governance knowledge and skills of professionals working in the local government sector.

Dux: Christine Priest, Wagga Wagga City Council

Dux of the Finance Intensive Course

Covering all aspects of local government finance this one week intensive residential course will benefit new finance managers, senior accounting and accounting officers or anyone with a financial background wishing to expand their knowledge of local government finance.

Dux: Tracy Wilde, Sutherland Shire Council



Local Government Professionals Australia, NSW is the leading association representing all professionals in NSW local government and is part of a national federation of associations. The organisation is committed to maintaining high professional and ethical standards and ensuring that its members are at the forefront of leadership, change and innovation.




JOEL SCHUBERT 0409 445 735